Hearing from God

We’ve all been given an assignment
Every single one of us
We’ve all been designed to occupy a place in the body
You’d think that we would embrace it, but oddly we’ve replaced it with folly
So on the day we depart
We’ll explain to our God who would hang on a cross
We were ashamed to exalt you in the face of the false

At it again with one of those heart hitting rap lyrics and got to thank ole J. Monty for those words. Finding time to write gives me a chance to pause and reflect as well procrastinate calling peeps. I mean you would think hearing, “yeah we want to partner with you would fuel one for the entire day”, but throw in some remarks: “you not even working or I’m sorry we can’t support this year.” and I’m cut to the core. I begin to entertain those lies from Satan and maybe they are right. Starting each morning begins to get harder and harder and yet God reaches out and sends me a bro who I need at a time like this and texts, “2 Corinthians 8:1-15”:

We want you to know, brothers, about the grace of God that has been given among the churches of Macedonia, for in a severe test of affliction, their abundance of joy and their extreme poverty have overflowed in a wealth of generosity on their part. For they gave according to their means, as I can testify, and beyond their means, of their own accord, begging us earnestly for the favor of taking part in the relief of the saints—and this, not as we expected, but they gave themselves first to the Lord and then by the will of God to us. Accordingly, we urged Titus that as he had started, so he should complete among you this act of grace. But as you excel in everything—in faith, in speech, in knowledge, in all earnestness, and in our love for you—see that you excel in this act of grace also.

 I say this not as a command, but to prove by the earnestness of others that your love also is genuine. For you know the grace of our Lord Jesus Christ, that though he was rich, yet for your sake he became poor, so that you by his poverty might become rich. And in this matter I give my judgment: this benefits you, who a year ago started not only to do this work but also to desire to do it. So now finish doing it as well, so that your readiness in desiring it may be matched by your completing it out of what you have. For if the readiness is there, it is acceptable according to what a person has, not according to what he does not have. For I do not mean that others should be eased and you burdened, but that as a matter of fairness your abundance at the present time should supply their need, so that their abundance may supply your need, that there may be fairness. As it is written, “Whoever gathered much had nothing left over, and whoever gathered little had no lack.”

I can’t explain in depth how these 15 verses rejuvenated my soul upon reading them and go figure this wasn’t my first time reading this passage or book. God’s word is alive and one doesn’t know when, how, through whom or even by what, but He is alive and speaking. Are you listening?   

It’s crazy how now a days I’m looking at past events and noticing the tangible presence of God. Me and my mom scratched a goal off the bucket list at the end of October this year: together drive from New Orleans to Los Angeles. Broke it up in 2 trips from Las Vegas to Los Angeles back in 2011 and now Nola to Grand Canyon in 2016 but hey we did it. There at the Grand canyon I felt and saw God. Now when you first lay eyes on this natural wonder I mean *mouth drop* majestic. How rains and a river could create something so b-e-a-utiful is truly remarkable and gives evidence to the existence of a God, so incomprehensible to our minds. So you thinking, “oh He was obviously there”. God chose to reveal himself in a Western Scrub jay, a small blue blue blue bird. This bird was awesome!!

Like everything in my life usually what I envision never fully comes to existence. I planned on hiking to the bottom of the canyon and camp, nope. I’m sorry you need a permit which we are out for the weekend. Okay, new plan: I will hike to the bottom and back to the top in one day, nope. You are asking to die if you do that says the ranger. Pissed beyond belief I stammer out to the trail and figure I’ll go down the South Kaibab trail for 2hrs or so and then turn around and get back up and meet up with my mom. Needless to say the view was spectacular but me being a child that my plans weren’t coming true decided to put on earbuds and just blaze on downward. It’s during my descent I saw ever so often a blue bird. He flew beside me and infront of me. I’m sure he was behind me at times, but I would round the corner of the trail and sure enough there he was chilling on a rock up ahead. I finally get to my resting point and decided that this sour funk I was in needed to end. I decided to thank God on just witnessing His creation, the blessing of traveling here with my mom, and you know just the life He has brought me from and guiding me to something awesome. As I sat in prayer that same bird was hopping all around me, and me being a bit too adventurous decided it was a great idea to follow him to the edge of the ridge on the last rock jutting over an impressive sheer drop that could kill me on impact if i slipped, but if this bird was there I could manage too. That view was pretty sick!

Now they weren’t playing about that hiking back up…it was intense. Upon reaching the top I felt my chest swell up in knowing hey I didn’t do what I planned, bottom to the river and back up, but I hiked down the Grand canyon. In the future though I’m going back there and camping at the bottom. As I sat at the entrance of the trail catching my breath there was my buddy, the scrub jay, in the tree next to me. I thanked him for traveling with me and started to chat with these other hikers I passed on the way up. They offered to take a picture of me, so I can document reaching the top and after our conversation turned toward our chosen careers. After saying goodbye to them I noticed these 2 hikers  eyeing me throughout my convo with the prior couple. After walking over to me, they introduced themselves, mentioned they overheard our convo, and began to say, “We wanted to come over and tell you it is amazing the work you are doing overseas. My son served over there for some years in the past and currently works in the states, so I’m familiar with your struggles. Me and my daughter-in-law just want to encourage you to keep on because your needed. Thank you for your service.” *mind blown* I mean what are the chances!!

Guys, I am telling you God exist. He talks and sends a bird to fly with me on my hike, so I can see how tangible is His presence. Then He plans not just tangible viewing, but this child of mine needs to see and hear,so my other children will encourage Him too. I had a “mountaintop” experience which brothers and sisters I hope can help you in wherever valley you find yourself in, know there is an out. It’s not what you were designed for or shoot even deep down probably didn’t envision this as your destination and yet you here… Christ doesn’t say to keep striving on in this attempt to be perfect or achieve your hearts’ desire but it’s finished.

My death and resurrection is enough. Believe in Me and give me your all. I’m no genie. I’m not the new seasonal fad. I will renew your mind and it will hurt. Oh, to scrape off your fleshly, worldly tendencies going to take work, but it’s possible with me. You don’t have to pay for it. Belief in me is free. Ask for Him to come in. Acknowledge your running away, your anger, your own atrocities committed against a wholly perfect God not the standard you use but that standard needs to be a holy, blameless God. Anything short of that which is everything doesn’t get you to Him besides Him. Jesus died and resurrected 3 days later promising He will return and will send and give you His spirit to walk out this life until that time. Wherever you are at you can stop. Turn around and pursue him with your whole heart.

NAI

 

Leave a Reply

