Edward Hyde

“For many years I looked at life like a case at law. It was a series of proofs. When you’re young you prove how brave you are, or smart; then, what a good lover; then, a good father; finally, how wise, or powerful or [whatever.] But underlying it all, I see now, there was a presumption. That one moved… on an upward path toward some elevation, where… God knows what… I would be justified, or even condemned. A verdict anyway. I think now that my disaster really began when I looked up one day… and the bench was empty. No judge in sight. And all that remained was the endless argument with oneself, this pointless litigation of existence before an empty bench… Which, of course, is another way of saying– despair.” —  Quentin in After the Fall, by Arthur Miller.

Edward Hyde

One of my favorite bands is the Gorillaz. Back in the day, Feel Good Inc., was and still is my jam. In April their newest album, Humanz dropped. I was already beginning to get disturbed after watching the music videos with their haunting and acid-like images, but like a loyal fan I decided to listen to the album in it’s entirety with an open mind. Sadly, it didn’t wow me like their Plastic Beach album but what lurks underneath the songs well to be blatantly obvious up in front especially viewable in the music videos is the demonic forces and messages driving this world. To let you know this post is not a critique on the album; rather, a long awaited mask removing and awareness drawing to the things that fuel our, Edward Hyde, significance of name: Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde.

For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the cosmic powers over this present darkness, against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly places. — Ephesians 6:12

Music is a powerful influencer. In this age there is enough evidence to prove that the idea of music being a factor in one’s choices is true. I’m not saying its controlling, but it definitely aids the decision making process in a positive or negative way. Negatively speaking, music has the ability to draw on your cognitive fallacies. I one day will write about all the interactions I have come across some wormwoods in my past, but for now I’ll digress. Could we chalk up things like despair, anger, or lust as spirit driven? Nah bruh.  I think our hearts naturally have the capability to commit said evils such that it’s a combination of our own faulty hearts and ‘spiritual forces of evil’ provoking our hearts to their natural state of evil. maybe influenced?

Naturally evil is harsh ya thinking, but don’t we see this in kids. Parents don’t have to teach kids to be selfish. Once they learn words like ‘yes’ and ‘no’, ‘No’ becomes more soundly articulated once something isn’t to their liking. I know naturally kids can be sweet, but I believe from birth we all born selfish little pricks and through our growth and formation factors like: family, social status, ethnicity, and geographical upbringing leads to correcting some of those areas into suppression or augmentation. In lieu of my comment on music here is a hymn for you by William Cowper:

Return oh holy dove return.

Sweet messenger of rest.

I hate the sins that made thee mourn and drove thee from my breast.

The dearest idol i have known what air that idol be.

Help me to cast it from thy thrown and follow only thee

I really do a poor job on writing. This post like my other ones has been written in pieces. I might have lost the point where I was going, so sorry if I offended anyone with my “know-it-all” attitude. I get inspirations through readings, the Word of God hits me with certain scriptures that pertain to the blog post topic, and in all the hustle of bustle of work I tend to not sit down and jot them in enough time. Far from me being one of those people that go out in the square yelling, “REPENT” but come on do yall not see it? Do people just think these music from people like The Weekend, Chainsmokers, Gorillaz, *insert current popular artist/band* has the lyrics promoting life?? Could it perhaps be every single day you getting lies thrown your way and people being slaves to things whether they care to admit it or not?

“We know that we are from God, and the whole world lies in the power of the evil one. And we know that the Son of God has come and has given us understanding, so that we may know him who is true, and we are in Him who is true, in his Son Jesus Christ. He is the true God and eternal life. Little Children, keep yourselves from idols.”– 1 John 5:19-20

Don’t get me wrong I loveeee music. Like in my blood, in my soul music just speaks. I also have and still do listen to these artist I mention. My Edward Hyde jams too. But we ain’t meant to live as Hyde!! We meant to obey God. Don’t confuse me I ain’t promoting religion because religion has a tendency to be too man-centered. Dr. Tim Keller says it best:

Religion operates on the principle “I obey–therefore I am accepted by God.” But the operating principle of the gospel is “I am accepted by God through what Christ has done–therefore I obey.”

Your Hydes’ need some transformation. It’s time to wake up and see the idol you facing. See the lie you believing. See the god that’s killing you.

 One has only the choice between a God and idolatry. If one denies God… One is worshiping some things of this world in the belief that one sees them only as such, but in fact, though unknown to oneself imagining the attributes of Divinity in them.

— Simone Well

 

Leave a Reply

